This and That on a Monday.

Hello!  Did everyone have a good weekend?  Did anyone notice that the Packers are still in the playoffs?

Yep, we have to dig deep for the good in January.

Just a couple of things today.   One, if you like tortilla soup (or if you’ve never tried it but think you’d like it), here’s a great recipe.   I’m happy I can link to it – I actually got it from Rick’s Mexican Every Day, which I happen to own.   I made this yesterday.  I used the suggested alternative of a canned chipotle chili since I didn’t have any dried.  Also, instead of cubing the chicken, I seasoned the whole chicken breasts with some adobo powder, browned them, and simmered them whole in the broth until they were tender, and then I shredded them.  I think the flavor of those skinless, boneless breasts is so much better with this treatment.

I expanded the recipe just a bit and got two solid meals and probably an individual lunch or two out of it.   I love making a big pot of soup or stew on a Sunday, and having enough left over for a weeknight meal!

Two, if you’re one of the 3 people in the world who doesn’t read Cookie’s blog, go there now.  Wish her a happy birthday (just a day late) and then check out the links she has provided to The Fabulous Joan’s new business venture.   I have to say, I’m so impressed.  I don’t spin, and I don’t know jack about spinning, and I don’t want to know anything more than less than jack about spinning until that magic day when I can retire with a full pension (that’s a long time from now for those of you who haven’t done the math), but even I can see what a fantastic idea Joan and Cookie came up with.  And the execution is beautiful – right down to the detail of the boxes looking like little packages of gourmet cupcakes!

That’s all I have…  happy Monday!

 

5 Comments

Filed under Cookery, Who Knew?

5 responses to “This and That on a Monday.

  1. I am excited about Joan’s new venture! I am less excited that the Pat’s are out of the play offs. Boo.

  2. Now I’m hungry. Thanks for the very kind write up! I love what our Joan has come up with.

  3. Since I’m a sucker for sweets:-), it didn’t take me long to fall down in Joan’s shop and get up holding some luscious fiber. It’ll be my first pair of handspun socks. And you’re smart to stay away from the spinning until your pension days, it’s another stash-building hobby for sure.

  4. I am right there with you on spinning. Besides, it would take time away from knitting!

  5. Thanks for the great soup recipe. I’m catching up on reading….just went over to add some cupcake fiber to my stash!

Leave a Reply

