Who you callin’ crazy?

Ms. Joan’s plate is quite full, but somehow she manages to fit in dessert – complete with whipped cream and a cherry on top – and then give it all away.   Over the weekend she managed to raise a considerable sum for the children of Darfur, ream out a hapless busybody who falsely accused her of running trespassers off her property,  and knit about 45 miles of lace (I’m merely assuming this last bit – maybe she knit more). 

If that’s not enough, look what showed up at my house on Friday, just in time to cheer up a crummy day.

Sweet!

Sweet!

From Joan.  Who has nothing else to do.  The yarn is Mountain Colors silk/wool laceweight in the Crazywoman colorway.   The shawl pin is just exactly what I needed and the acorns are precisely what  I would have chosen for myself.

Also in the package was an errant Spring, 2008 IK containing the pattern for my next lace project.   Apparently that was a popular issue here in Milwaukee and the yarn stores were cleaned plum out, but Buffalo came up trumps.

I leave it to you to decide who, in this scenario, is the crazywoman. 

Happy Monday all!

13 Comments

Filed under Lifebits

13 responses to “Who you callin’ crazy?

  1. How thoughtful of her to send you that package!

  2. That Joan is something else!

  3. I see no crazy. Unless you drop everything to try to keep up with her, of course. ;^)

    I have sock yarn in that color, btw.

  4. Crazywoman yarn from a crazywoman knitter to a crazywoman knitter. The cycle of life. Gorgeous stuff! Sweet indeed.

  5. The only crazy I can see here is that she actually gave away that yarn! What a generous friend.

  6. Crazy Woman is the name of a mountain range in Montana where Mountain Colors is dyed. But it’s fitting, no? 😉

  7. Wow. Gorgeous! Can’t wait to see what it becomes some day.

  8. That Joan is something, all right. What gorgeous yarn!

  9. Congratulations on the win, Nora! I look forward to seeing what you make with your new yarn. I love that shawl pin!

  10. Thanks to Carrie, I now know where we will have our old lady knitters meet up some day – in view of those mountains.

  11. Lovely! That will make one beautiful shawl!

  12. beautiful yarn! hit and run posting. i’m alive, I swear! xoxo

  13. Sweet indeed! That’s quite a dessert Ms. Joan whipped up.

Leave a Reply

