A Fine Day.

Weekends, lately, have been rather laden with activity of the not-necessarily-relaxing kind.  Soccer tournaments, forensics meets, middle school dances, places to go, people to see…   All fine and fun in their way, but weekend time is so precious that when I have a lot of commitments on the weekend, I always feel like I’ve been robbed when Monday inevitably arrives before I’m ready.

That’s why yesterday was golden.  I had an entire Sunday with no obligations.  The weather was hinting at spring – nice and sunny, and too warm for hats or mitts, although a jacket was still required.  I got out for a couple of walks, did some knitting, was treated to a latte, read a little, and even snuck in a bit of toilet cleaning (I know – so special).

And, in honor of my Irish ancestry, I cooked up a fine feast for dinner. 

The Jef poured me one of these…

stpats 002

(That’s a Guinness, if you’re wondering.)

I cut up one of these…

stpats 001

… tossed it with some olive oil, salt, and pepper, and popped it in the oven to roast …

stpats 004

…  while a corned beef simmered on the stove, with carrots, onion, and celery flavoring the broth, which was then used to flavor the boiled red potatoes.    I mashed the spuds with their skins, adding butter, garlic, and sour cream, and piled it all on a plate …

stpats 005 by you.

… a little horseradish was not amiss, nor was a bit of chewy chocolate for dessert …

stpats 003

A fine end to a fine day.

I hope it holds me for a while…  Happy Monday, all!

17 Comments

Filed under Cookery, Lifebits

17 responses to “A Fine Day.

  1. Beth

    oh YUM. I was on a lemon kick. Made a lemon cake (from the Orangette cooking blog if any of you read it) and lemon poppyseed muffins for breakfasts this week. And we grilled for the first time this year–tuna steaks, served with a big salad and sourdough bread. But your dinner looks fantastic (and I have zero idea how to cook corned beef as much as I love it in a sandwich).

  2. Oh yum! I love cabbage! Apparently, that is something weird, but I can’t help myself. I’ll have to try it your way. I’m used to steaming and pan cooking. Mmmmm… you just made me hungry for holupkies.

    Happy Almost St. Patty’s Day! xoxox

  3. knitwonpurltoo

    Your take on St. Pat’s Day cuisine sounds good to me. In fact, it sounds, and looks, excellent! The idea of boiled cabbage and tasteless red potatoes just leaves me feeling rather blah about it. Happy St. Pat’s Day (tomorrow) and have a great Monday!

  4. That looks like a delicious meal!

  5. Joy

    Looks totally yummy! I’ll have to try the cabbage in the oven – I usually sauté it. I’m about to stick a chunk of corned beef in the crockpot. Did you use Guinness in the chocolate cake?

  6. I am a recent convert to corned beef and have yet to acquire a taste for the cabbage, but your take looks pretty excellent. As a matter of fact, I think I feel more relaxed just *reading* about your Sunday.

  7. Yum! I need to make roasted garlic mashed potatoes SOON!

  8. We just boil the cabbage until it gives up, I’ll have to try your roasting method.
    Wait, you didn’t eat the carrots? They’re the best part.

  9. Mmm. I love potatoes mashed in their skins. And corned beef. And horseradish. And oven-roasted cabbage sounds yummy.

  10. Forensics meetings? Are you studying to be a CSI? Or are you one in your spare time? ;^)

    Yum!

    I am now starving. /sigh

  11. OH! My mouth is watering! You roast your cabbage! Brilliant! And mashed potatoes? I am so doing that this year! I always throw them in with the corned beef, carrots, celery and cabbage. But I don’t really like the potatoes cooked that way! I will mash from now on.
    🙂
    xo

  12. Happy Monday is an oxymoron. 🙂

    I feel the same way about weekends! As if they’re not the days I get to do all the housework/laundry I couldn’t get around to during the week.

    A fine Irish feast there.

  13. Yum. That was my Sunday dinner! 🙂

  14. I always feel the need to have at least one unplanned weekend day, too. Otherwise, Monday sneaks up on me and batters me on the head. I like to spend my days off doing things I like which does not necessarily include the grocery shopping or laundry or cleaning…..

  15. Roasted cabbage? I just swooned. That sounds amazing. Makes me want to grow it again this year!

  16. Oh wow, that looks so yummy!!

  17. I have a corned beef in the fridge, waiting for tomorrow since we won’t be home for dinner tonight. I think I may have to break down and go buy a cabbage even though I’m the only one who will eat it. I bet the ducks will eat the half I can’t eat. Hah, never thought of that.

    I agree, h0rseradish is the only way to go with corned beef.

Leave a Reply

