A Good InVestMent.

Maybe there really are no coincidences. 

I’ve been thinking of knitting a vest for some time.  Vests could, possibly, wind up being my signature knitting gimmick.  I love wearing vests.  They look great.   They are less expensive and less time consuming to knit than sweaters. 

I have had Talia queued up for a couple of weeks, ready to cast on with some lovely Cascade 220 Heathers (in – what else – brown) after I bind off my Shetland Triangle (in the hope that I’ll get gauge on my Addis). 

Then, listening to the latest Stash and Burn podcast the other day, I learned about Vest-uary – a KAL for folks who want to knit vests in the month of February. 

I think it’s a sign.  With any luck, I’ll get started on Sunday. 

Anyone else thinking about knitting vests next month?   Show us your patterns!

10 Comments

Filed under Knitting

10 responses to “A Good InVestMent.

  1. I’ve been planning to knit a vest for Dale for ages. This could be just the kick in the pants I need.

  2. I’ve had Talia queued for a while too…but I’m not making any KAL commitments until I finish moving and this round of PT. They’re being mean to me this time. 😦 Imay even ask Angie to come down and beat them up for me.

  3. Maybe if I knit a vest instead of a bigass sweater my arms will feel better.

  4. I like the idea of a vest, but I just don’t wear them. I suppose it’s mostly because I think they look best with buttoned shirts, and I almost never wear those. And for outwear, it’s my arms that tend to get cold, so vests aren’t very practical.

    Yet I’m still very tempted to do a vest version of the Aran cardigan I just made – or maybe the Quilted Diamond vest from Webs.

  5. I haven’t worn vests since my freshman year of high school, where they were all satiny and patterned after men’s suits. I have no interest in wearing them now because I fear the fashion flashback. They always look cute on other people, though, so go for it!

  6. I can’t wait to see your vest knit up, Nora.

    While vests aren’t really my thing, I did fall in love with a pattern from that one skein book. Sadly, the largest size it comes in is a 34 chest.

    Yeah.

    Unless I rework the pattern, there will be no vesting in my future. xo

  7. I am not a vest person. I am beginning to wonder if I’m the only one not signed up for some way cool KAL. Bummer.

  8. Oh I agree. I love a good vest. My first ever garment for myself was a vest and I went on and made quite a few.

    I’m not doing Vestuary, even though I was tempted because I’m so caught up in lace, but I will be doing more this year, for sure.

  9. Nice vest pattern. You will look especially cute in Talia, Nora!

  10. I am not ready to knit a vest right now. I do have a spectacular Halloween one queued for the time I am ready. I even have the yarn waiting in the stash. I am not sure if a vest is good for me or not, but with the wild one I will knit one day, I do not think that matters.

Leave a Reply

