Week of Thanks, Wednesday.

Today, I am thankful for ability.

… The ability to work, to support my family.

… The ability to reason, to avoid running off the road in the twists and turns of life.

… The ability to read, to feed my mind.

… The ability to exercise, to strengthen my body.

… The ability to love, to fortify my existence.

… The ability to touch, to enhance life’s experiences.

… The ability to forgive, to cleanse hard feelings.

… The ability to remember, to warn and to warm.

… The ability to cry, to acknowledge life’s sadness.

… The ability to laugh, to embrace what is good.

tulips-001

8 Comments

Filed under Lifebits

8 responses to “Week of Thanks, Wednesday.

  1. Beth

    Wonderful post, Nora. As I raced to the grocery store to be there when it opened in order to beat the rush and get a few last minute things, I was thinking about it.

    I’m grateful for the ability to BE grateful. I realize that sounds dopey, but I know people who don’t seem to appreciate what they have. It’s never enough–enough attention, enough money, enough of a “win.” Just recently, I learned that an acquaintance had blown up a very successful partnership of almost 40 years because he wanted
    more. Ugly breakup, bad feelings among people who had seen each other’s careers and children grow up, a sour end to a distinguished career that should have ended with grace.

    Since I heard about this situation, I have been asking myself (and my friends) “what’s wrong with just having a nice life?” And my personal answer is that, not only is nothing wrong with it, it’s as profound a blessing as I can imagine. I’m glad that I have the ability to feel that way.

  2. I’m grateful for your ability to blog — to share these wonderful thoughts and ideas with us, so that we too can see all we have to be grateful for.
    Thanks!

  3. Again, just beautiful. You have a way of expressing exactly what I feel and never take the time to put into words. Thank you.

  4. Thank you for this wonderful reminder of all our abilities. I love this list!

  5. Chris

    As I’ve read your posts this week, I’ve been counting my own blessings. . . And, being the “big-picture” person I am, my focus is on family, friends and — surprise! — pets. All of whom (if one is truly blessed) offer love and support and inject humor into our lives.
    I’m glad to be able to count you in that group, N! (And you, too, B!)
    Happy Thanksgiving!
    c

  6. Another lovely post.

    Seriously, when is that Beth getting a blog?

  7. Beth

    Cookie–you are so funny. I have very little to say but you guys get what there is. Have a great holiday.

    C–you are definitely in my group as well. Love you.

  8. knitwonpurltoo

    What a lovely discourse among friends. Have a blessed and enjoyable Thanksgiving. Your posts this week have touched many a nerve, me thinks;–)

Leave a Reply

