Bust!

As in, I didn’t get to 100 miles on the dot, as you can see from my ticker.  But today is June 10, the last day of the 100 Mile Challenge, and since I seem to have picked up more than just some funny anecdotes on the bus, I won’t make an effort to polish off the last two miles today.  Drinking hot tea and taking ibuprofen will be the extent of my athletic endeavors.

I’m going to call it all good, though.  I hope you feel good about whatever goals you set and attempted during the past 10 weeks.  My greatest pleasure has been getting people talking about some difficult topics, and hopefully, helping a few folks quiet their doubts and take those first steps.  I hope you stick with it. 

So what’s next? 

I’m going to keep up my Tuesday Training posts, although I’m finding that I have some difficulty coming up with topics for each and every Tuesday.  I may not do one every week – but you know what would help?  If you have any ideas for fitness post fodder, let me know in the comments.  I would still like to get my Fitness God neighbor to guest post, but he requires some advance notice, and I’m not so good at that since I generally figure out what to post on a given day while I’m having my coffee, about ten minutes before I start typing.

I also need some new goals.  As I told you, I have a 10K run coming up, and a half marathon in September, so I’ve got lots of runnin’ to do.  I find, though, that when I’m running a lot (well, OK, even when I’m not) I neglect some other aspects of fitness.  To keep myself honest, I’m going to set a goal right here and now of devoting two days a week to core and upper body (mostly upper arm) strength. 

Those of you who strength train on a regular basis can stop larfing your arses off now, ok?  Or at least go somewhere where I can’t hear you.  Strength training is my Achilles heel, if you will.  It’s so easy to ignore it, and I must stop.  Ignoring it, I mean.

One of these Tuesdays I’ll post about why Women Of a Certain Age should care about being strong in the core and arms.  Right now, I’m going for a hot drink and maybe a nap.

Happy Tuesday. 

8 Comments

Filed under 100 Miles or Bust

8 responses to “Bust!

  1. Feel better soon. How about spark people for blog fodder. That place is WONDERFUL! It has recipes, exercises, health tips, tracking… you name it, it’s there.

  2. It’s funny because I actually like the strength training more than the cardio. Not that I do either. 😉

  3. knitwonpurltoo

    I am so bad at strength training, too. I think it’s because I have always done the cardio. I mean like 20 years worth of it. From walking and hiking to biking, so the cardio is really a part of me. The strength training is something I desperately need to do and the core training? OMG, I need it so bad, but have been clueless where to start.

  4. I find that yoga does all kinds of things for core and upper body strength! When I started, plank was hard. Really. And now, I can do chuttarunga (sp) (which is where to start in plank, and drop slowly down to where your nose is about 1/8 from the floor and just hold it for a bit.). DH can SEE the difference in my upper back, and I can see the difference in my triceps…
    I love the way yoga doesn’t FEEL like strength training (no weights… no reps), but is.

  5. Oh please do post soon (as you can) about why those-of-us-of-a-certain-age should have a strong core and arms. I just posted about being freakin’ old and how I’m going to handle it and I could use all the advice I can get! 🙂

  6. Feel better, Nora. How about some hypnotism routine to compel me to exercise? 😀

  7. I love weight training back in the day… when the earth was still cooling.

    Please try to get your fabulous neighbor to talk to us. I think that would be wonderful. Plus one less post for you to write. ;^)

    Feel better! ♥

  8. Yes, please do share re: core strengthening…
    Feel better soon, sweet dreams.zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Leave a Reply

