More on the Writing/Blogging Thing.

I guess you were paying attention on Saturday, after all!  What a treasury of thoughtful comments, all of which are worthy of further discussion.   One idea in particular drew my attention, though. 

Sandy, who is one of the Doyennes of the knitblog community, commented that she’s flummoxed by the number of people who come back to read her words every day.

I started a lengthy e-mail reply, then decided this was a topic for a follow-up post.  I’m also motivated by a few conversations I have had with FTF friends who ask me frequently “Now who is so-and-so who comments on your blog?  How do you know her?  How did she find you?”  I try to explain, but this community still seems very weird and mysterious to those who haven’t explored it, and I get a lot of puzzled looks.  I guess that’s not surprising.

I have stated before that when I started blogging, I had no clue what it would really mean.  I never thought about who would read.  I told a bunch of FTF friends what I was up to (and later had to give them a rather lengthy explanation of why it is that I write about knitting so much).  I never thought about whether people would comment, or what it would mean when they did or didn’t comment.  I just plunged in and started writing.

Pretty soon I had a couple of people I didn’t know from Adam coming back every day and leaving nice little comments.  Well, one of these people I did know from Adam, sort of, because I had been drawn in by the funny title of her blog, and then read each of her posts from the beginning to present time, because I found her to be someone with a lot of fun and interesting stuff to say, as well as a damn fine sock and lace knitter.  (And I was later embarrassed to learn that she knew I was totally stalking her, since she monitors this sort of thing.)  Anyway I then got into the swing of things and reciprocated, reading my heretofore unknown-to-me commenters’ blogs and commenting on theirs.  And things grew, as they do, with the curious clicking from my comments over to my place, or my new blogfriends linking to me once in a while (when that happens, I have huge spikes in traffic, and each time one or two visitors “stick”). 

I finally got a brain and subscribed to bloglines a while back, and I have maybe 60 blogs on my feed list.  Some of them are law, fitness, and food related.  The rest are my knit-sibs.  I check in on them when they post, usually leave a comment (not always, I admit – especially for those who get a gajillion comments every day, but I do read and I do care).  I have unsubbed to a couple of feeds recently, because I decided for whatever reason that I probably wasn’t going to have a “blog relationship” with these folks.  Nothing personal.  I also add more.  I’ll usually subscribe to someone who comments, and I’m subscribed to everyone who joined Knit w/ Nora.  After I read a few posts and get a feel for someone new, I generally begin to take an interest in what’s going on with them.  You know how it goes – you wind up in side conversations in e-mail, and establish other connections, and it grows from there.  I have telephone relationships with a couple of friends I’ve met through the blog, and a face to face friendship with another.

So, Sandy, don’t be flummoxed – it makes sense.   We’re friends, and we check in on each other just like we stop by someone’s office at work and see how they’re doing.  And to my IRL friends who ask, this is the story.  It’s not weird or mysterious at all – as I’ve tried to explain numerous times, this is a community like others you know.  This one happens to be not a geographic community, but a community of common interests – knitting, spinning, crafting, cooking, exercising (??), you name it – but what draws us together is that we write about our interests, and care about one another enough to check in, and support each other.

tulips

Have a great day, everyone!

12 Comments

Filed under Lifebits

12 responses to “More on the Writing/Blogging Thing.

  1. Few of us knew how much blogging would impact our lives. It’s such a wonderful place to meet people and make fast and true friends. How do we all find each other? It’s kismet! 😉

  2. Goodness, your posts for yesterday and today are so interesting…especially the comments. I like Margene’s explanation of how we find each other. There’s more I could write but my brain and fingers are not working together this morning. 😀

  3. Yup. It is kismet. I cherish my internet/blogging friends. You make my existence richer and fuller and make me think (and knit) farther than I have before. Of course, you say it so well.

  4. You’ve described what it’s like so well. This is almost exactly my experience with blogging. There are other benefits of doing it, but these are the main ones, and of course, the act of writing, as you said earlier.

    I find it challenging to manage the bloglines part of it. I have SO many I read. I love to comment but some days with everything else going on it, it’s hard and I tend to only comment when I feel really moved on those days. there are some, like those of my ‘best blog friends’ where I will comment always.

  5. Yes, having people back to read what I have written and sometimes even comment blows my mind.

  6. You’ve explained this relationship so well!

    xx

  7. Nailed it right on the head. (and Bloglines is a livesaver!)

    I am guilty of seldom commenting though. I feel like people might think I am a crazy stalker, even though I would never feel the same way about someone commenting often with me.

    I shall try to do better starting with you! 🙂 And while I’m at it, thanks for the fitness Tuesdays, you make it a little harder to make excuses not to excercise for a few days!

  8. Do I know you? ;^)

    XO

  9. Dude, the flood gates really opened up on that last post, eh?
    (Gretch(en), don’t fret, I love you)

    Bobby calls you all my ‘imaginary friends’, and seriously, he knows better :^)
    I call you all my Sweeties.

    (Cookie cracks me up, I just nearly wet my pants reading her comment)

  10. This is a subject that fascinates me endlessly. Is it more the same of stopping to view the train wreck or car crash? Opening one’s medicine chest to see a glimpse into a life?
    Perhaps it began that way but it really does end up in real, wonderfully warm friendships that I have not found in my REAL life. I honestly don’t know what I would do without blogging. And all YOU that come along with it!
    (ANd I may be a bit dense today (Yes, TODAY) but what does FTF friends mean?)
    xo

  11. I felt the same way when I started. I asked myself “what if no one ever reads this?” and then figured it was ok if that happened. I have tried to explain the relationship I have with folks who I have never met in person to my workmates and they are flummoxed by this. I think they think I am slightly off, but again that’s ok. You described it really well.

  12. Thanks Nora. 🙂 Online friends are just another facet of life and they add so MUCH to our lives. If people don’t understand it and aren’t willing to give it a shot, all the more’s their loss. 🙂

Leave a Reply

