If the first step is admitting I have a problem…

… the second step is convincing my friends to stop enabling me.

Yes, this was all Birthday Chocolate.  I received as much gift chocolate as I did gift yarn.   I’m reasonably certain the yarn will outlast the chocolate though – in fact, I admit that one of the pictured wrappers is actually EMPTY.  I shared, though – with my friends who presented me with a gift bag full of chocolatey goodies after a festive lunch out on Friday at our favorite hole-in-the-wall Pakistani joint. 

These friends don’t knit and as far as I know have only a vague understanding of my knitting alter ego.  Like George Costanza, I am superstitious about allowing my worlds to collide.  However, when the coyly concealed Chocolate Bag was passed to me for my inspection, one friend who was not in on the surprise said “oh my God, did you get her yarn?”  (Yeah, he’s a guy, so please insert his tone of vague disgust when reading that to yourself.)

The bag also included a card that plays Miami Sound Machine when open. 

I couldn’t have been happier. 

If I don’t eat it all in one day, I’m still in control, right?

 

6 Comments

Filed under Lifebits

6 responses to “If the first step is admitting I have a problem…

  1. Mercy but that’s a lovely whack of chocolate goodness!
    Since I tend to ‘try’ and stay away from sugar…. I find my chocolate stash (and yes, oh baby, I have one) lasts a good while… a square or two on occasion… I get quite the respectful buzz from it too :^D

  2. I thought you had control when you ate it in one day. Maybe I’m thinking of something else, huh? It all looks good; )

  3. Yummy photo! 😀

    I find that when fortune smiles on me and I have a lot of good chocolate, it lasts longer. I think I feel secure knowing if I need it, I have it. However, sometimes I *really* need it……..so I have to wait for fortune’s smile again to restock.

  4. What lovely friends you have, Nora. Chocolate and yarn really do help make life easier.

  5. Yummmmmm.
    Chocolate is sometimes better than yarn.
    But it depends on the yarn.
    And the chocolate.
    And absolutely, if you don’t eat it all in one day, you are totally still in control.
    (Just think how much chocolate you’d have if more of us had your address…..then you might have been in real trouble)

  6. A greater gift there could not be. I just love birthdays. I do. Even though I get older, I still love them!
    I am Costanza like as well. Only 2 people in my real world (besides my family who could really care less) know about the blog. And now? After 5 years of blogging, I pray they don’t find out because that would be embarrassing to have done something for so long secretly.
    I guess I view myself as a middle aged secret super hero, living with my secrets. 😀 Perhaps just a mediocre hero at best, but you know.
    xo

Leave a Reply

