Potato Tartiflette

[Ed. – First, thank you for all the beautiful comments on my last post.  I consumed several Kleenexes as I leaked all over my keyboard…  wow.   Today, I’m going with the mundane topic of FOOD, which I hope will make no one cry – if you’re watching your figure or anti-carb, you might want to avert your eyes from this post.]

stuff 001stuff 002tartiflette

We’re big on potatoes in this family.  You already heard about the potato pizza weirdness.  Somehow I think potatoes have elbowed their way into several other recipes on this blog.  What can I say – I’m of both Irish and Norweigian heritage, and I think I got a double-dose of the potato gene.  And, as a good friend once pointed out, potatoes are one of the perfect foods – much like m&m’s and eggs, they make a nice little meal, and come in their own carrying case.

Here’s another potato-based dish that we enjoy – it’s just the thing on a cold winter evening after you’ve been ice skating or skiing (or not).  This is a potato tartiflette, courtesy of Rick and Lainie’s Excellent Kitchen Adventures.  We make it with Swiss cheese rather than the Reblochon called for in the recipe, with good results.  Here’s how to do it:

6 ounces thickly sliced bacon, sliced crosswise into 1/4 inch strips

2 T butter

2 medium onions, peeled, cored, and sliced

2 1/2 pounds white or red skinned boiling potatoes, sliced 1/4 inch thick

1 pound Reblochon, Gruyere, Swiss, or other cheese, grated

In a large (12-inch) skillet with a lid, cook the bacon until it is starting to crisp.  Remove to paper towels, and drain off the fat.  Reserve a couple of teaspoons of fat for the baking dish.  Add the butter, and saute the onions until they are golden brown.  Then add the potatoes, 1/2 cup water, and 2 teaspoons salt.  Put the lid on, and cook until the potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes.  Stir once in a while to keep the potatoes from sticking.

Stir the bacon in, and place the entire mixture into a baking dish into which you have first drizzled some of the bacon fat.  Top with the grated cheese, and bake in a 400° oven for 25 minutes, or until the cheese is golden and bubbly.

Good stuff!  Also quite tasty heated up the next day with a fried egg or two – decadent, but delicious!

5 Comments

Filed under Cookery

5 responses to “Potato Tartiflette

  1. BAD! BAD! Evil potato pusher. Potato, cheese and onion no less.

  2. Leftovers?? Pfft~
    😀

  3. Oh my goodness. I’m averting my eyes or I’ll gain 10, no problem. Okay I peeked. Looks Yummy.

  4. D

    We used to order this at Les Halles on John St. in NYC —it’s amazing….cant wait to try it, thanks!!

Leave a Reply

