FAQ Fridays – A Meme

Ahem. 

I have recovered from last night’s little tantrum.  I’m somewhat abashed.  My traffic went up to its average pace overnight.  Don’t know if that’s because people’s feeds pinged in a particularly pathetic, whiny fashion that made them look, or because everyone was out shopping yesterday.

Anyhoot, today’s FAQs are All About Me (because I know you care) in the form of a meme, about which I posted the other day.  How ’bout you guys take a whack at this too?  (I won’t tag anyone with this, like I’m supposed to, because I can never follow ALL the rules.) 

1. Were you named after someone?
Yes.  My two grandmothers’ first names are my first and middle names.

2. When was the last time you cried?
I teared up just a bit at D2’s holiday program yesterday…

3. Do you like your handwriting?
If I’m using my favorite red fine-point capillary pen or a mechanical pencil, yes.  Ball point?  Yick.

4. What is your favourite sandwich meat?
Leftover Thanksgiving turkey, with onions, black pepper, and mayo.

5. Do you have kids?
Yes.

6. If you were another person, would you be friends with you?
Sure – what’s not to like??  🙂

7. Do you still have your tonsils?
Yes.

8. Would you bungee jump?
Not for all the tea in China.

9. What is your favourite cereal?
Oatmeal.

10. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off?
Not usually.  It’s part of my slobbish/finicky dual persona.

11. Do you think you’re strong?
Not particularly.

12. What is your favourite ice cream?
Pure chocolate.  No chunks, tracks, ripples, or other unpleasant surprises.

13. What is the first thing you notice about people?
The presence or absence of a sense of humor.

14. Red or pink?
Red.  Or pink.

15. What is the least favourite physical thing about yourself?
My toes.  (Yesterday I lost the toenail on my right Great Toe, thanks to running and an old injury.  Charming.)

16. Who do you miss the most?
My dad.

17. What colour pants and shoes are you wearing?
I’m wearing black sweats and blue slippers. 

18. What was the last thing you ate?
Two Trader Joe’s chocolate truffles.

19. What are you listening to right now?
The furnace running.

20. Favourite smells?
Melted chocolate, woodfired pizza, woodsmoke (outdoors), pine.

21. Who was the last person you spoke to on the phone?
Probably someone at work.

22. Favourite sports to watch?
A Certain College Football Team.  Women’s soccer.

23. Hair colour?
Medium brown with gray.

24. Eye colour?
Blue.

25. Favourite food?
The hottest Thai curry I can find, Indian, and “real” pizza.

26. What colour shirt are you wearing?
Gray.

27. Winter or summer?
Fall!

28. Favourite dessert?
Flourless chocolate cake.

29. Hugs or kisses?
Hugs (husband excepted).  I hate it when men try to “social kiss” me!  Back off, dudes!

30. What book are you reading right now?
The new Elizabeth Lowell, and a book on felted knits.
31. What is on your mousepad?
The logo from my former law firm.

32. What did you watch on TV last night?
This Old House; Ask This Old House.

33. Favourite sound?
D1 playing her flute, when she’s really in the mood.

34. Do you have a special talent?
I can belch louder than most.

35. Where were you born?
In a small town in Wisconsin.

Your turn!  Make me feel the love.

5 Comments

Filed under Lifebits

5 responses to “FAQ Fridays – A Meme

  1. Beth

    Dear Your Blogness–I stopped at the word “physics” since I am scientifically challenged. However, THIS is very much my speed. So, here goes:

    1. Yes, my maternal grandmother. Her name was Bertha, so they fortunately weren’t literal when they named me.
    2. Two weeks ago because of a gift from my father of particular sentimental value.
    3. it’s functional rather than aethetically pleasing.
    4. BACON
    5. no, sadly.
    6. yes
    7. no
    8. NEVER
    9. granola (not all granolas, but a good one rocks)
    10. does anyone untie them? Seriously?
    11. not physically but otherwise yes
    12. chocolate chip. But they can’t be big chips–I like shavings.
    13. their voice
    14. neither particularly but red over pink
    15. my bird legs
    16. my mother
    17. at the moment, Lands End pjs. In half an hour, it’ll be khakis and brown shoes
    18. a frozen waffle
    19. silence…ahhhh
    20. puppy breath. Nothing like it.
    21. my husband
    22. the Packers
    23. blonde with assistance
    24. blue
    25. really good crab meat without much done to it.
    26. the pjs are light blue
    27. fall
    28. coconut cake or blueberry pie
    29. hugs
    30. just finished Thousand Splendid Suns last night
    31. cats
    32. Law and Order
    33. the dogs “talking” to each other in the early morning. It’s kind of a crooning that they do when they are really content.
    34. getting lost. Nobody can do it better. I once took a wrong turn in Jacksonville, Florida and drove to Orlando.
    35. Boston, MA

  2. 1. Were you named after someone? YES.

    2. When was the last time you cried? OH, I CRY PRETTY MUCH EVERY DAY. I THINK IT’S A MID-30’s CRISIS.

    3. Do you like your handwriting? I DO. I THINK IT LOOKS VERY MATURE AND PROFESSIONAL.

    4. What is your favourite sandwich meat?
    “FAVOURITE”? WHAT, ARE YOU BRITISH NOW?

    5. Do you have kids? NO. BUT I DO HAVE A PUPPY NAMED SARAH SILVERMAN!

    6. If you were another person, would you be friends with you?
    OF COURSE!!!

    7. Do you still have your tonsils? YES.

    8. Would you bungee jump? YES, IF SOMEONE ELSE PAID FOR IT.

    9. What is your favourite cereal? SPECIAL K WITH RED BERRIES (ALTHOUGH DOES ANYONE THINK IT’S WEIRD THAT THEY REALLY SEEM TO BE STRAWBERRIES BUT THEY’RE CALLED ‘RED BERRIES’? WHAT IS THAT ABOUT?! ARE THEY FAKE?)

    10. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off? I AM DISDAINFUL OF SHOES THAT HAVE TIES.

    11. Do you think you’re strong? VERY MUCH SO. BUT ONLY PHYSICALLY.

    12. What is your favourite ice cream? I’M LACTOSE INTOLERANT. I DON’T HAVE A “FAVOURITE” ICE CREAM.

    13. What is the first thing you notice about people? WHETHER THEY HAVE KIND EYES.

    14. Red or pink? BOTH!

    15. What is the least favourite physical thing about yourself?
    HIPS/ASS. NO MATTER HOW MUCH I WORK OUT, I’M STUCK WITH THE PEAR SHAPE!

    16. Who do you miss the most? I MISS JONATHAN, MY BUSINESS PARTNER WHO’S RUNNING THE NEW YORK OFFICE.

    17. What colour pants and shoes are you wearing? LEVI’S AND KNOCK-OFF UGGS.

    18. What was the last thing you ate? I HAD WHITE CHEDDAR CHEESE POPCORN AND A HANDFUL OF MY AUNT’S HOMEMADE TOFFEE FOR BREAKFAST.

    19. What are you listening to right now? NPR … 88.7

    20. Favourite smells? MY PUPPY’S FUR; THE SMELL OF COFFEE BREWING; THE DUSTY SMELL JUST BEFORE IT RAINS ON A SUMMER’S DAY OR NIGHT; JUST ABOUT ANY OF JO MALONE’S PERFUMES.

    21. Who was the last person you spoke to on the phone? JONATHAN, THE AFOREMENTIONED BUSINESS PARTNER.

    22. Favourite sports to watch? OH, I DON’T LIKE SPORTS.

    23. Hair colour? BROWNISH…WITH SOME GRAY STRANDS.

    24. Eye colour? BLUE.

    25. Favourite food? MY DAD’S MEATLOAF; KATZ’S POTATO PANCAKES; BIG MACS; MY GRANDMA’S KALBERWURST AND MASHED POTATOES.

    26. What colour shirt are you wearing? WHITE BUTTON-DOWN OXFORD.

    27. Winter or summer? FALL!

    28. Favourite dessert? A NICE CHEESE TRAY.

    29. Hugs or kisses? I DON’T REALLY LIKE TO BE TOUCHED.

    30. What book are you reading right now? THE ESSENTIAL AUSTRALIAN SHEPHERD. ALSO, I’VE BEEN READING LOVE IN THE TIME OF CHOLERA SINCE LAST MARCH — BUT NOW I THINK I’M JUST GOING TO WAIT FOR THE MOVIE.

    31. What is on your mousepad? I HAVE A LAPTOP/NO MOUSEPAD!

    32. What did you watch on TV last night? NETFLIXED A MOVIE CALLED ‘LITTLE CHILDREN.’

    33. Favourite sound? MY MOM AND DAD SAYING HELLO WHEN I WALK INTO THEIR HOUSE.

    34. Do you have a special talent? I’M PSYCHIC.

    35. Where were you born? WISCONSIN, BABY!

    P.S. I did read and nearly commented on yesterday’s post, but I was going to say something about Star Trek TNG and how my favorite character, Tasha Yar, was killed but also continued to exist in an alternate universe and reappears in an episode where an anomaly of some sort shifts the space-time continuum and then I thought, “people really don’t want to hear about that.”

  3. el Jefe

    What’s with the Euro spellings?

  4. YF Chris

    So — at the end of this week and on the eve of a needed (though probably not-so-well-deserved vacation) I’ve caught up with all your back-postings. And I’m delighted to note that you got off the head-in-the-oven thing as quickly as you did — whether it was for lack of a reading light or just b/c you’re feeling less ignored, I’m good with it.
    I don’t have the energy to complete your Q & A. But I will weigh in to give a hearty second to puppy breath and puppy fur being among my favourite (how British of me!) smells. Pretty surprising, huh?!?
    Happy Holidays, my dear friend. . .

  5. Herself

    Dudes, I copied the meme so I did NOT do the British spellings myself. They were pre-spelled. Calm down, please.

Leave a Reply

